Morning Mercies

I have this bad habit of nagging myself about the things that I have to accomplish each day, documented on a personal planner, a calendar posted on the wall, and a chalkboard to-do list.  My phone alarm is set to go off at 6AM on weekdays, even though I work from home and practically never leave the house.  Working on international time zones usually means that there’s a bunch of e-mails waiting in my inbox long before I even wake up.  Depending on the previous night’s events, I might wake up with a groan and drag myself out of bed or fully energized and ready to pounce on the day’s work.  Today’s morning reaction was the latter but as I was sipping my coffee in the cool outdoor breeze with a view of the rising sun, I suddenly felt like I wanted to just sit and pause for a while.

 

It’s morning, it’s the start of a new day! How many people out there never wake up from their sleep? There’s nothing particularly special about this one except that it’s another 24 hours given by God to accomplish His plans in my life, and in the lives of others whom I interact with.  Skipping my usual morning reading plans (devotionals, books and whatnot), I took the time to pray quietly, thanking Abba for blessing me with more time, a good night’s sleep (which is surprising, given that I went to bed late), and renewed energy for the day’s work.  Whenever thoughts of pending tasks creeped into my mind, I had to remind myself that as long as I let God direct my day, it’ll turn out okay.  Like that immunology work that I can’t seem to wrap my head around – Lord, patulong po! J

 

More than just a ritualistic exercise of self-discipline, morning prayer fills my personal need for peace and order in preparation for another chaotic day.  It’s also a reassuring reminder that whatever happens during the day, there is a loving God who is in control and that everything happens according to His plans.

 

 

22 The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; 23 they are new every morning;  great is your faithfulness.Lamentations 3:22-23

 

The mind of man plans his way, But the LORD directs his steps. Proverbs 16:9

 

 

The sun comes up

It’s a new day dawning

It’s time to sing Your song again

Whatever may pass

And whatever lies before me

Let me be singing

    When the evening comes

– 10,000 Reasons (Matt Redman)

Leave a Reply

