When Nothing Else Works

I’ve been restless lately with my spiritual walk.  It feels like there’s so much background noise, so many thoughts about current events racing through my head, that I can’t process additional input from my usual reading plans anymore.  I have been through similar seasons before, and I found that 1 Peter 2:2-3 offered the best advice: Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation, now that you have tasted that the Lord is good.”

So today, I skipped the devotional readings and went straight to the Bible. With my present concerns, I thought the Book of Psalms might be a good place to start.  And thank God, my restless heart got the much-needed peace that I have been looking for. 🙂  Reading the Book of Psalms used to make me want to roll my eyes because King David just seemed too…dramatic (whiny?) for my taste.  But after going through some pretty tough times a few months back, I found that his words captured everything that I felt at the moment, and offered hope and strength when it felt like my willpower was about to give out.  In times of trouble, David’s definitely my go-to guy.

These were the passages that stood out so far (I’m going back to reading after posting this, I just can’t get enough of Psalms right now):

psalm-2-9

 

psalm-10-v-2-7psalm-10-v-7-11-18

 

psalm-14

 

Leave a Reply

