Frustration Fix: Working with What You Have

 

I have always admired people with calligraphy skills.  I can watch doodling videos over and over again and not get bored, appreciating every perfect little stroke of the brush or nib.  It’s something that I’ve always wanted to learn but haven’t had the time to pursue.

Calligraphy is one of the items in my Things-to-Learn-in-My-Free-Time (what is ‘free time’?) and I originally planned on using this skill (which I currently lack…!) to make reminders for myself around the house using my favorite Bible verses.  I have this big notebook full of verses that have helped me cope with various life issues and I’m trying to make it a habit to transfer my highlights from the Bible app to this notebook for quick reference whenever I’m feeling unsettled about particular problems.  I’m sure you’ve encountered similar graphics or images on the internet (usually on Pinterest), but I get frustrated when I’m looking for a specific verse and I can’t find it, or I don’t like the font or the background, etc.

Yesterday, I was feeling particularly thirsty for God’s word and my usual daily dose of devotionals just couldn’t cut it.  I had a really long day with multiple out of the house errands, and I think I’ve gotten used to being a hermit that going out for an entire day really overloads my neurologic circuitry.  Yep, multiple cataplectic episodes capped off my day.

I felt overstimulated and wanted, nay, NEEDED to feel calm, preferably without meds.  But that’s just my personal thing because I know I can manage without them, having been able to do that for years without any problem.  It’s different for everyone though, so some may need medications for anxiety for a time or all the time, and I’m not judging anyone here. Just do what you can to make yourself functional and well, okay? Except illegal substances.  As for alcohol…it wouldn’t hurt to try and find healthier ways to cope. (#Anxiety #MentalHealthAwareness #ThatEscalatedQuickly)

ANYWAY. Home improvement and my lack of calligraphy skills.

While I was reading my recent verse highlights yesterday, I felt so moved that I wanted to MAKE something beautiful out of them.  But I didn’t have the calligraphy skills and that frustrated me.  I tried to get over it and kept reading my highlights, and I was reminded of Romans 12:6-8 (NIV):

6We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith; 7if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach; 8if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead, do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully

And that got me thinking, hey, I’m pretty good at finding things on the internet; I love pretty fonts and know where to get them for free; I have a knack for being creative with simple programs like MS Word, etc.  So I decided to work around my frustration of not having the manual artistic skills using my emerging techie (naks!) skills for my pet project.  Here’s my work so far:

 

psalm-46-v-1-3

Amen and amen!

2-timothy-1-v-7-net

One of my all-time personal favorite verses.

psalm-46-v-9

I always read this verse whenever fear creeps up on me because of the current events in our country and around the world in general. #LordHealOurLand

gradient

Here’s me being a little more adventurous with gradient colors 🙂 Ugh, colorful pretty things make me so happy!!!

I’m still in the process of selecting some nice frames, backgrounds and clip art and then I’ll be ready to print and post them around our home.  I’m so excited!  If anyone else wants to have a copy (of the end product, fonts, etc. whatever), just email me at iamjustasecretary@gmail.com and I will gladly forward them to you.  All the resources that I’ve used so far are freely available on the internet, no bootleg versions, I promise.  Thank God for generous and talented artists around the world!

Have a great Sunday!

psalm-46-v-5

3 thoughts on “Frustration Fix: Working with What You Have

Leave a Reply

