Inspiration

As cliché as it sounds, parenthood really changes a person.  When I became a mom, that was when it really sank in that I had to get my act together because I suddenly felt like I had this huge responsibility of raising decent human beings.  I also remembered how my mom was the one who made us memorize prayers, nagged us out of bed on Sundays to attend church, and first taught me that God the Father of all.  I remember my tongue-in-cheek comment that if God was indeed the Father of all, then my parents weren’t really my parents and were in fact my spiritual siblings. I started calling them “Ate” and “Kuya” for a time until Mommy gave me THAT look that said I was being too smart for my own good. This list is the People counterpart of my literary influences – those who inspire and encourage me to pursue my walk with Christ, and those whom I consider as my personal accountability group.

Walk with the wise and become wise, for a companion of fools suffers harm.” – Proverbs 13:20 (NIV)

  1. My daughters, Mikaela (Kakay) and Katie(pie)
    • The prime reason that made me feel like I had to take faith seriously 🙂
    • Child dedication process led us to joining a discipleship group in CCF Pasig.
    • They continue to influence my walk through constant feedback — they mirror everything I do and echo everything I say! Again, parenting is such a HUGE responsibility!
    • Every good quality that they have is a result of obedience – our (parents) obedience to God, and their (kids) obedience to us; a good way to model the phrase “you reap what you sow”
067

Family milestone: We’re all smiling! (Mahirap yun ha)

  1. My husband, Karlo
    • My original partner-in-“crime”; such a huge influence…so much so, that I think at some point, my faith had to be tested separately to see if my personal faith was real or if it was just piggybacking on his.  I’m happy to report that, yes, it’s real.  I think I passed THAT test with flying colors. 🙂
    • My last “idol”…and I constantly have to surrender him on a daily basis (I know it sounds a little cryptic but just take my word for it, hehe)

 

  1. My father-in-law, Jack Du, and mother-in-law, Baby Du
    • So blessed to have Christian in-laws who I can talk to about anything. I truly appreciate the fact that I have in-laws who pray for and with us during the storms of life.  Their Scripture-based advice pulled us through several tough spots and guarded me from following worldly “wisdom” that would have made a catastrophic mess out of our family’s life.
    • My original source of good Christian reads 🙂

 

 

  1. Daddy Boygie
    • Unknowingly, he both inspired and challenged me to be a genuine follower of Christ, to try and convince him to start attending church with us.  We never did get the chance to attend church together… sinundo na siya eh.  But that’s okay because I know he’s happy where he is. 🙂
    • His stroke, hospitalization and death was my crucible of faith (more on that when I find the time to write about it).

 

  1. Pretty Sisters
    • Discipleship group a.k.a. CCF Family
    • My prayer warriors!
    • We are in constant communication via FB messenger and sometimes ang hirap mag backread! I ❤ them.

 

  1. Fitas of Manila [Fitas = (wannabe) Fit + Titas]
    • My closest girl friends from college, Lulu and Chappy.
    • Other people who knew us in college would remember us as mataray, type A, Mean girls na medyo scary, I think.
    • In the span of roughly a year (we started our Viber group when Chappy got married in December 2015), we have evolved from Burn sessions to Bible verses 🙂 By God’s grace, we have truly matured. 🙂
  1. Other relatives and friends who walk the Christian talk – Kuya Abel, Ate Maila, Tito Art, Tita Diame, Tita Roma (and her “downlines” Cedz, Len, Jake and David), Tita Rosa, Tita Pinky, Tita Maris, Tita Mita, Tita Yeyeng and the long list of Sorredas :D…. Dra. Chit, Jun, Doctors in Touch/ Adrenaline (SLMC)

 

1Blessed is the one  who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers,but whose delight is in the law of the Lord,  and who meditates on his law day and night.That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,  which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither —  whatever they do prospers. Psalms 1:1-3 (NIV)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Inspiration

Leave a Reply

