Good reads

Confession: I am a bookworm and I admittedly have a voracious appetite for literature.  Reading is as natural as breathing and speaking, and is my means to keep myself both informed and entertained in any situation.  Growing up, my parents discouraged TV time by allowing us to watch TV only on Saturdays and one weekday that my sister and I had to agree on.  Instead of cartoons, they filled our little apartment with books and kept a Reader’s Digest subscription from our early childhood until our teenage years.  If my parents were still alive, I think they’d be mortified with how much time my kids spend watching cartoons.  Sorry Mommy and Daddy, mahirap ang walang yaya 😀

My parents’ efforts to ignite a love for reading directly impacted how I acquire, process and use information on any topic, including my spiritual life.  I made this list to give due credit to the authors (all of them are exceptionally gifted with words! Minsan napapasigaw ako ng TUMPAK! Pero sa isip ko lang, hehe.) especially when I echo some of their thoughts and sentiments (and re-quote relevant Bible verses).  Also, it’s a good way to reach out to others who might be interested to personally get to know who God is and why everyone needs Him in his or her life.

I know it looks pretty long, but to start anywhere is better than to get discouraged and not bother at all.  Personally, it’s not a humblebrag thing and I didn’t force myself to read any of these – I just really love to read and on some days, my cataplexy/ adrenal insufficiency combo keeps me in bed (or in the hospital), and it’s all I can do to keep myself from being bored out of my mind.

This is a rough list of past, present, and future reading resources that continue to shape my Christian views, writing style and post content.  I’ll probably need to update it once in a while.

 “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” – Philippians 4:8

  1. The Bible
    • Bible app by Youversion: New International Version (NIV), Easy to Read Version (ERV), New Living Translation (NLT)
    • “Jesus Calling” New King James Version devotional Bible – Sarah Young
      • The only dynamic book I have ever come across (and I haven’t even read the whole thing yet). Applicable across the years, covers all topics and situations. Try it.
      • Personal life manual applicable to EVERYone.
      • If you’ve ever struggled with your emotions and behaviors and have never tried reading the Bible, you’re missing out on a lot. Life made a whole lot more sense when I started reading the Bible and practicing what I’ve learned, even when it was uncomfortable – or rather, ESPECIALLY when it was uncomfortable.  Obedience opens the floodgates to God’s blessings.  A considerable number of Christians can testify to this fact.
  1. CCF Sunday Service Messages and evangelical events – CCF is my home church; personal favorites:
    • Only Jesus Can Change Hearts
    • Solitude (Midyear Prayer and Fasting Week 2016)
    • Jesus Unboxed series (May? 2016 to present)
    • Pray Care Share – ministry material
    • GLC work books
  1. Our Daily Bread – a good jump off point for baby Christians (I think I still am a baby Christian…there’s always more to practice and learn! And I mean that in a good way 🙂
  1. Devotionals = Bible-based Reading Plans on Youversion Bible app
    • Reading plans of varying lengths (from 3 days, 7 days, 2 weeks, to a whole year) that make the Big Book more digestable and compatible with every day life.
    • My favorites (so far) in no particular order:
  • Outlaw Christian: Finding Authentic Faith
  • Finding Comfort in Pain*
  • God is With You Every Day*
  • When God Doesn’t Make Sense*
  • Leaving a Lasting Legacy
  • Chase the Lion
  • Never Say No: Raising Big Picture Kids
  • A Daily Word for Parents with Ron Hutchcraft
  • 10 Things to Abandon for Spiritual Growth
  • Move Towards the Mess
  • Addicted to Busy: Recovery for the Rushed Soul
  • Identity in Christ
  • Peace that God Promises
  • Discovering and Enjoying Your Purpose
  • Visioneering
  • How is Your Heart Today?
  • Stop it! No More Worry
  • Lifehacks: Practical Tips for Godly Habits
  • Watch Your Mouth
  • Fully Satisfied in His Love
  • Living in the Light: Money, Sex and Power (John Piper is always on point!)
  • How to Live with Your Family
  • Open in Case of Emergency – it was in my “Saved for Later” list and I opened it when our house helpers suddenly left one by one in a span of 4 weeks and my workload at home ballooned exponentially. (I eventually had to resign from work.)
  • The Comeback: It’s Never Too Late and You’re Never Too Far
  • #Struggles – very millenial friendly 🙂 #relate
  • Proverbial Girl: Wisdom, Values, and Being Fabulous
  • Finding Hope at Home

*Reading plans that I started when Daddy had a stroke and was in the ICU for 3 weeks

  1. Youversion Bible App
    • Verse of the day
    • Verse highlights from family and friends
    • Sagap ng chismis on personal issues based on the current reading plans, haha! Hi, Fitas!
  1. Don’t Follow Your Heart (book) – John Bloom
  1. My First, Second and Third Attempts at Parenting (book) – Steve Murrell
  1. Desiring God articles (website: desiringgod.org) – John Piper
  1. The Insight for Living Ministries by Chuck Swindoll (e-mail subscription) – Favorites:
    • Crucible for Christ
    • Our Obstacle Course
    • The Battle is Mine
    • God vs. Our Giants
  1. Faith Gateway/ Devotionals Daily (e-mail subscription) – Favorites:
    • Run Toward the Fear: Run Toward the Roar – Levi Lusko
    • Pain is a Microphone – Levi Lusko
    • Joy in the Stillness – Emily Ley
    • God’s Peace for When You Can’t Sleep (excerpts)
    • Start Your Day with the Lord – Shiela Walsh
    • Stargazing: Who’s in Control (excerpt from Devotions from the Front Porch)
    • The Strength You Need: A Very Present Help in Trouble – Robert Morgan
    • Get Back to Your Heart and the Heart of God – John Eldrege
    • God of the Present Tense – Laurie Short
    • Fix Your Eyes on Jesus – Christine Caine
    • The Fruit of the Spirit – Dr. O.S. Hawkins (The Joshua Code)
    • In Touch with a World of Hurt – Dr. O.S. Hawkins (The James Code)
    • Saving Grace – Max Lucado
    • God Will Never Leave You Alone – Max Lucado
    • Satan Stalked Him – Max Lucado
    • One Day at a Time – Jeff Schreve
    • The New Math of Grace – Philip Yancey
    • Unanswered Prayers: What’s Going on, God? – Mark Batterson
    • Pray Hard… God Shows Up in Unexpected Ways at Unexpected Times – Mark Batterson
    • Spiritual Warfare: Behind Enemy Lines – David Jeremiah
    • Losing Your Ship Without Losing Your Soul – Jonathan Martin

 

Current Reading List:

  1. The Purpose-Driven Life – Rick Warren
  2. Effective Parenting in a Defective World – Chip Ingram

 

On My To-Read List:

  1. Raising Up Girls – James Dobson
  2. Holy Ambition – Chip Ingram
  3. Tough Guys and Drama Queens: How to not get blindsided by your child’s teenage years – Mark Gregston
  4. Life Unboxed – ministry material from CCF
  5. Doubting Toward Faith: The Journey to Confident Christianity – Bobby Conway
  6. What’s So Amazing About Grace – Philip Yancey*
  7. Hope Again – Chuck Swindoll*
  8. The Debt-Free Lifestyle – Andrew I. Luison

*these are actually my Dad’s books, which I was really surprised to find among his favorite books [Asimov, Ludlum, Barney Stintson (!), Sh*t My Dad Says (I gave it to him as a present; it’s pretty funny)] while I was cleaning out his home office; Based on the notes on the first pages of each book, they were given to him by friends during the time that my Mommy died. I recognized the authors and my interest was piqued.]

3 thoughts on “Good reads

  1. Pingback: Inspiration | I am just a secretary

Leave a Reply

